This quarter, I’m taking three classes. Fiction Writing, Literature and History I, and Writing and Editing for Publication.

To be honest, I was really only looking forward to Fiction Writing. Now, though, I discovered that I actually like all of my classes, which is a pleasant surprise. (I think it has to do with having amazing teachers.)

Anyway, I mainly wanted to talk about the literature class.

Strangely enough, despite being and English major, I’m not a big reader. I used to be, but lately I haven’t been doing enough of it. And I have almost never been excited for something I’m reading in class. Our book weighs like 60 lbs (okay, so I’m exaggerating) with thinly sliced  and has a picture on the cover that does not make me want to read it.

I’m excited now.

In Literature and History I, our first reading is Gilgamesh, which is one of the earliest known literary texts. Since it’s so old, I was expecting it to be really hard to read, but it’s not. It’s really easy to understand, and it’s actually really interesting, too. I’m enjoying myself with required reading for the first time in a really long time. I’m not entirely sure why I’m enjoying it, but I’ll ruminate on it while I finish reading it. Maybe I’ll figure out what it is that intrigues me.

Also, I look ahead on our reading calendar and see that we’re going to read The Odyssey, Oedipus Rex, The Aeneid, and Ovid’s Metamorphoses. I cannot express how delighted I am in these choices. Nothing makes me happier than Greek and Roman mythology. Except maybe fairy tales. Or Shakespeare. Or Sondheim. Seriously, I can talk for days just about the houses of Atreus and Thebes, and Oedipus Rex is really the only solid example that helps me understand irony.

Oh boy. 🙂

