Tags

, , , , ,

After reading Dark Places, I read Gone Girl, which was everything I hoped for. I’ve finally gotten back in the swing of reading for fun.

I ordered another book on Amazon, one that boasted similarities to Gone Girl. There are four separate places on this book that say I will compare this book to Gone Girl. Unfortunately, I am halfway through and I have yet to see the same complexity of characters and plot, the same way Flynn finesses language.

Instead, I got a whole lot of telling and not enough showing, half-baked metaphors, characters who apparently can read minds, cliche back stories, shallow characterization, and vague pronoun references.

I’m assuming the connection between this story and Gone Girl is going to be a massive twist at the end. Unfortunately, that means I already know the ending of this story. And a major twist is not the only reason I liked Gone Girl.

Be careful when marketing your book based on how it compares to other books. Not only do you invite greater criticism for not being like it and disappointment in your readers, but you also can almost…devalue your own book, in a way. Your book, just by being written, is worth something. You put a lot of time and effort into it. You want people to remember it for being its own thing, not for being some sort of cheap knock-off.

