Tags

, , ,

I’m sure I’ve blogged about this before, but I’m going to do it again. Children’s Fiction and YA fiction is super duper important and no one can tell me otherwise. (I mean, you can try if you’d like, but you’re going to need a really strong argument, and if you can change my mind, then hats off to you.)

Now, I’m not necessarily a huge fan of kids fic. In fact, a lot of the tropes we see in YA fiction drive mr absolutely batty. (Hello, unnecessary love triangles.) But once upon a time, I too had plans to write an awesome werewolf love story. Of course, I had planned on it being adult paranormal romance, but when I told my idea to the guy I was sort of seeing, he made fun of me for wanting to write YA. 

After my initial anger at the fact that he 1. Made fun of me and 2. Thought I was writing YA, I realized that even if I were writing YA, I would have nothing to be ashamed of. 

You see, fiction for kids is what is teaching the younger generations to love reading. It is shaping who they are as people (which of course means we need to really think about the things we write for kids, but we shouldn’t be ashamed of it.)

We also shouldn’t feel guilty for reading YA. I recently read an article that was all about shaming adults for reading YA because they can’t hold a candle to real, “adult” literature. But really, not only should people be allowed to enjoy whatever the hell they want, but there is also always something to be learned from whatever we read, even if it just amounts to “you know, I really don’t like young adult novels.”

There is always something to be taught in our writing, and there is always something to be learned from our reading.

